Sourav Ganguly 1st India cricketer in 65 years to become BCCI president

Published On: - October 20, 2019

Sourav Ganguly is all set to be elected unopposed as the new BCCI president. The former India captain filed his nomination for the coveted post on Monday at the BCCI headquarters in Mumbai. He was accompanied by former BCCI bosses Niranjan Shah and N Srinivasan as he became the only candidate to file the nomination.

Only once before had an India cricketer achieved the rare double. Maharaja of Vizianagaram, who led India in a Test tour to England in 1936. Despite playing only 3 Test matches for India, the Maharaja of Vizianagaram a.k.a Vizzy served as BCCI president between 1954 and 1956.

Notably, former India captain Sunil Gavaskar and Shivlal Yadav have also served as interim BCCI presidents in 2014.

The BCCI elections were scheduled to be held on October 23 but with Sourav Ganguly being the only candidate to file his nomination for the top post of Indian cricket, he is set to be elected unopposed.

You May Also like

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram